Gratitude When You’re Grumpy and Tired

It was the spring of 2015, when I started reading Ann Voskamp’s One Thousand Gifts. My good friend recommended this book as it was recommended to her from her mentor. I got my “copy” on the Kindle App and started reading it when I had more time to lay in bed–I was a mom for the third time to our third baby. I couldn’t believe I was picking this book up after having our sweet Betsy here’s why… immediately into the book, I experience my heart strings tug and hardness tear…I balled, I cried, I couldn’t hold in the tears as I swiped through the pages.  You have to read it! It was almost hard to get through and especially as a new mom hormones and all… The book was fabulous–she lays out her journey well and the stories that shaped her heart shaped mine.

The heart of Ann Voskamp to share her life and her journey inspired me to keep a journal. I began slowly putting pen to paper and writing a couple of things a day.  I am thinking about how I love it when I’m grateful and joyful (that combo) but not into the grateful and grump + tired. I long to grow up in Grace and Love. I want badly to be a woman who is grateful in all circumstances because of My God! I know his character–he is Love, Abba (father), Comforter, Creator, and so on.

I bring up Mrs. Voskamp’s book because it brings up such a heart to be grateful–to slow down and look and see WHAT God is doing. Do I always FEEL like he doing something? No. I have to look carefully to be the student and study my Maker.

So today, I am looking in the midst of the groggy and the grump. I am looking… what do I have to be thankful for? Here are a few things:

  1. My in laws–my father-in-law came over to work on a project with my husband. So sweet.
  2. My children and their eager help! I loved witnessing them.
  3. I got to meet up with my good friend at the park and our six kids (together) played
  4. She made me Thai Iced Tea–such a sweetheart
  5. My girls and I went to the grocery store and bought food for the week! Yum.
  6. We had a GREAT shopping experience and got to have deli meats and candy for dinner
  7. Two kids fell asleep as we got closer to home–yay! Effortless bedtime for mama and dada
  8. Daddy and Delly time–they got to hang out and “work on a project”
  9. I made a new dish inspired by my friend and it was delicious-Japanese noodles (inspired by The Pioneer Woman)
  10. I cooked and got to eat (got seconds…) in under 30 minutes
  11. Betsy woke up fussing but I got to nurse her back to sleep–so nice and easy
  12. I got out of my funk! Went from grump to grateful by asking the Lord (Phil 4:4-9 and 1 Thes 5:16-18)… oh thank you, Lord! I DO NOT like living tired and grumpy… it’s yucky…
Leave a Reply

